Looking To 2012

I sent some of the folks in my department off on a search for everyone’s New Year’s resolutions knowing full well, I don’t have one. I know I can’t stick to one. I just don’t have “that” discipline that makes the difference. I have, however found some interesting ways to approach the typical self-improvement goals of the new year.

The first was in an email I received from the local Jewish Community Center. It had an excerpt from examiner.com.

Here are 20 questions that can get you started on your end-of-year review:

  • What were my resolutions or goals for 2011?
  • What were my greatest accomplishments for 2011 that I am most proud of?
  • Now, what was one more?
  • What are the actions I took to achieve these accomplishments?
  • What strengths did I tap into to be able to take these actions?
  • How can I apply these strengths to move forward in 2012?
  • What did I intend to do in 2011 that did not get done?
  • What were the biggest challenges or barriers I faced in 2011 that contributed to not accomplishing everything I wanted?
  • How did I deal with each of these?
  • Where do I get my strength to overcome barriers?
  • How have I grown from these accomplishments and challenges?
  • What am I most grateful for as I reflect back on the year?
  • What have I learned?
  • Who are my greatest supporters or support systems that I can rely on as I move forward?
  • How can I show my gratitude and appreciation to those who have supported me?
  • What would I like to be different in the upcoming year?
  • What would it feel like to experience this difference?
  • What am I willing to do to make this change a reality?
  • What barriers do I anticipate and what strategies can I put into place to overcome these barriers?
  • What is the first step I need to take to get closer to my goals?

If I look through these questions, I can find quite a few accomplishments for the year.

I also stumbled upon a great time from the Harvard Business Review. It’s an adaptation of Peter Bregman’s blog post What’s Your One Big Theme? Instead of tackling a whole list of things at once, pick the ONE thing that would impact several things on the list and work on that.

One represents a self-inventory approach to success; the other is one-step-at-a-time.

Hmmm…maybe I can come up with some resolutions. I’ll be giving these approaches a try. Let me know what works best for you.

Looking To 2012

Leave a Reply

