Lessons Learned at Work

Me? A mentor? What?

That’s what I thought when the president of my company sent an email to a group of us at work. I said, “Sure. Count me in.”

Now what? I wonder what I will say.  What do I have to share with her that will make someone’s entry into the workforce better than it would have been without me?

I think about myself at that point in my life. I had no idea of what was in store for me or what I would evolve to after all these years and what I would learn after graduation.

I learned how to make myself indispensible (or so I thought). I learned how to juggle a multitude of projects all at once. I learned that my boss didn’t necessarily make the best decisions every single time and that I might need to speak up every once in a while.  I learned that I could make my opinion count. I learned that building relationships help you in your personal life, but that they’re also important in your professional life. I learned that even the most daunting projects can be enjoyed if you remember to have fun and if you really like the people you’re working with. I learned how to learn from everyone I came in contact with no matter what their job was/is, no matter how long they’ve been doing this, no matter.

Tomorrow, I begin the journey of being someone’s mentor as they get ready to finish school and enter the workforce. Wish me luck!

Lessons Learned at Work

5 thoughts on “Lessons Learned at Work

  1. Elissa says:

    Good luck (but you don’t really need it)! Hopefully she realizes she hit the mentor jackpot and takes full advantage of it. 🙂

  2. I have absolutely no doubt you’re going to be a great mentor, Julia.

    I too often question my value and what could I possibly do to help someone, mentor someone… falls under the category of being our own worst critic…

    Please keep us posted!

    Steve O

Leave a Reply

