The Making of a Rock Star

I love meeting smart, young, aspiring, energetic newbies!

I just met a new employee who I think could be a rock star. She’s smart. She’s willing to learn. She’s detailed-oriented (a trait I’ve always found to be critical in my line of work). I think she could grow into a stellar employee (for us or anyone).

Maybe it’s been too long since I’ve met someone like this, but I want to help her grow like all of the others I’ve worked with have done for me.

Mentoring is a big responsibility, but it’s a responsibility we all bear because at some point in all of our lives we’ve all been taught by someone who took the time to share a part of themselves.

Who shared with you? With whom will you share your knowledge?

The Making of a Rock Star

3 thoughts on “The Making of a Rock Star

  1. I remember my first mentor. It was Gary at the Miami Herald. He had been working there over 30 years. I just knew he had so much knowledge and I liked him. He was always amazed how much a young guy would like hanging out with him and all of his old buddies, but I used it as time to learn. Little did he know that I was like a sponge for every word of wisdom he shared. It helped me to be successful as a sales person and I try to teach every chance I get with customers and my own employees. If you don’t share your knowledge because you think it is precious you lose out on the magic it creates when you do.
    Keith

Leave a Reply

