Relationships

Someone recently asked me what they needed to do to eventually get a position in what she considers to be an important area…corporate marketing (or as we like to call it Global Galactic Headquarters…GGH for short). Admittedly, I was surprised at first. Surprised at the source. Surprised that they saw that position as a bit all-important. You see, I think the positions in the field are more important to our business because they have direct contact with our guests.

This person wanted me to give her the magic formula to achieving this goal. You know the one. Take some classes. Read some books. Turn around three times as you chant something and Presto!

You know that formula….

Yes, you do….

Isn’t that what got you to where you are today?

It’s not? Oh….hmmmm…

Well, now let me think about how I got here.

Someone I once worked with once told me that the relationships I would build over my career would be the key to how I advanced in the company. I’m sure he would’ve said “career,” but we drank a great deal of purple Kool-aid in those days and none of us ever considered the thought of working anywhere else.

I went about doing my work, meeting more coworkers and not really thinking much about it. One day I received a call out of the blue that put me and some pretty talented women on a ridiculously crazy last-minute project which I’m pleased to say we handled with grace (and successfully). Note: I’m from the South, and we think handling things with any level of grace is always a requirement.

Project done. Time passes. Circumstances change. I’m offered a great opportunity by the person who made that ridiculous call to me. I took on a new role in a new town working with a great many new people. Once again I went about doing my work, meeting more coworkers and not really thinking much about it. Time passes. Circumstances change. Only this time, I get two offers that could change my life.

I decide how to approach this fork in my career road, and this pattern I seem to have starts all over again. I go about doing my work, meeting more coworkers and not really thinking much about it. Then one day, that person who made that crazy call to me made me another offer which would combine the work I loved with a location that would bring me closer to my home and family. I took it! Wouldn’t you know it? Three months later the president of the company would announce his retirement and the subsequent changes in management left me pretty unsettled. New people came in. Changes in staff came about and somehow I was spared. Why?

It seems through the course of me doing my work, meeting more coworkers and not really thinking much about it, I had built relationships.

Relationships

7 thoughts on “Relationships

  1. Wonderful site you have here but I was wondering if
    you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same
    topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get comments from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

